Published on October 07, 2014

Legacy Society Members Support Genesis Future

The Genesis Legacy Society recently recognized new members who generously support the future of Genesis Health System.

The new members of the Genesis Legacy Society are Darin and Mary Beth Anderson; Dawn A. Burke; Kevin and Diane Cassatt; Kent and Lynn Colberg; Wayne and Chris Diewald; Robert S. and the late Mary Jo Francione; Dr. Erling and Barbara Larson; Ted and Lisa Rogalski; James R. Seybold; Jordan Voigt and three anonymous donors.

“We are deeply appreciative of the generosity and vision of all members of the Genesis Legacy Society,’’ said Steven Goebel, planned giving officer, Genesis Health Services Foundation.  “The support of the Legacy Society allows Genesis to provide outstanding care and up-to-date medical technology to our patients today and will allow us to continue long into the future.’’

The Genesis Legacy Society recognizes individuals who plan to leave a legacy for the future of Genesis Health System.  Gifts from the Genesis Legacy Society have brought more than $5 million in support of health care at Genesis Health System. There are now 260 members with nearly half being inducted in the past six years.

Here is more on the newest members:

Darin and Mary Beth Anderson – Darin is an accountant who is financial acute services manager, Genesis Health System, and Mary Beth is also an accountant.

Dawn A. Burke – Dawn is manager of accounts payable and payroll at Genesis.

Kevin and Diane Cassatt – Kevin is a life-long resident of the Iowa Quad Cities who was born at Mercy Hospital, Davenport, before merger into Genesis Health System. He is manager of the pharmacy at Genesis Medical Center, Davenport.   Diane is a pharmacist for Hy-Vee.

Kent and Lynn Colberg – Lynn is currently manager of medical/pulmonary unit, Genesis Medical Center, West Central Park.

Wayne and Chris Diewald – Wayne has held a number of executive positions in health care, including president of Genesis Medical Center, Davenport and chief operating officer.

Robert S. and the late Mary Jo Francione – Bob and Mary Jo began their own business, Robert’s Travels, in the early 1970s. The business was later sold to The Motor Club of Iowa, AAA.  Bob and Mary Jo were married 44 years.  Mary Jo was cared for at the Clarissa C. Cook Hospice House following illness and a stroke.  She died in 2013.

Dr. Erling and Barbara Larson – Dr. Larson established a partnership in gastroenterology after graduation from the University of Iowa College of Medicine and residency in San Francisco. Following his retirement from medical practice, Dr. Larson graduated from the Genesis Clinical Pastoral Education Program and now provides spiritual care to Genesis patients.

Ted and Lisa Rogalski – Ted has held a number of leadership positions within Genesis Health System and now serves as administrator, Genesis Medical Center, Aledo. Lisa is director of materials management for Genesis Health System.

James R. Seybold – Jim is a grateful former patient who desires to give back to Genesis not only for the quality of care he received, but also for the compassion shown to him in a time of financial challenge.

Jordan Voigt – Jordan serves as administrator of Genesis Medical Center, Davenport. He is a former administrative fellow to Doug Cropper, president and CEO of Genesis Health System.

Anonymous donors – Three legacy commitments have been made anonymously.

"Much more of what we do in health care will be done outside the walls of hospitals in the future,'' Goebel said.  "The generosity of donors will help us get where we need to go and will positively impact the needs of others for years to come."

There are a variety of ways individuals and couples can structure legacy gifts to help Genesis continue to provide compassionate, quality health services for all those in need for generations to come.  For more information, contact the Genesis Health Services Foundation at (563) 421-6865.


Make a Gift

Support the Genesis Foundation Today!

Donate here

Our Locations

Office Hours:

Monday through Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube